Interested in running for office in Student Government?

The Office of Student Activities recently released the 2012 NSU student government associations elections candidacy packet, a 12-page application that undergraduate students must submit in order to get on the ballot in time for undergraduate SGA elections, which begin April 9. Below are 12 things you need to know that will make submitting your packet easy and seamless.

1.    An application can be picked up in the Office of Student Activities. The application deadline is March 30 at 4 p.m., and is due to the Office of Student Activities.

2.    Potential undergraduate SGA candidates must have a cumulative GPA of at least a 2.3 to run for office.

3.    Potential candidates must attend one of the following information sessions: March 26 at 12 p.m. in Rosenthal 204, March 28 at 5 p.m. in Rosenthal 204, March 29 at 12 p.m. in Rosenthal 200, or March 29 at 5 p.m. in Rosenthal 204.

4.    Potential candidates must have 100 signatures from undergraduate students, and must include a copy of their driver’s license and/or student ID with their application.

5.    Pages 7 and 8 of the application are recommendation forms that must be completed by someone who you are familiar with and who can speak on your behalf regarding your work ethic. The individuals completing your recommendation forms must submit them in a sealed envelope to the Office of Student Affairs, attention: Andrea Kovachy, no later than March 13 at 4 p.m.

6.    A political ticket is a single election choice that, if selected, will fill multiple seats in the undergraduate SGA. Students who would like to run for the positions of president, vice president of legislative affairs and vice president of judicial affairs must run on tickets, which are called executive board tickets. Each ticket must submit their applications together in one sealed packet marked confidential. Each ticket will also be required to have an interview with Andrea Kovachy, director of student activities on April 3. For more information on the interview, you may contact Kovachy at

7.    Candidates for the following positions must complete the 2012 NSUSGA Elections Packet, but will be appointed by the newly elected president and vice presidents after NSUSGA elections. The positions available include: treasurer (1), public relations (1), organizational standards board (4), campus entertainment director (1), executive secretary (1), and freshman senator (2).

8.    Candidates for Inter-Organizations Council senate positions must complete the 2012 NSUSGA Elections Packet, but are appointed at the IOC Meeting on April 14. Candidates for fraternal and sorority senate must complete the 2012 NSUSGA Elections Packet, but are appointed by the presidents of the fraternities and sororities on campus.

9.    The following senators are elected by the respective members of the undergraduate student body: international (2), commuter (3), non-traditional (1), minority (2), and residential (2). Senators may run independently or as part of a ticket. Senators who decide to run as part of a ticket must submit their applications together in one sealed envelope marked confidential.

10.    Any and all campaign materials — including, but not limited to, posters, flyers, websites, chalk drawings, balloons, T-shirts, social media posting and anything else that can be used to promote the candidate — must be submitted to the NSUSGA Elections Commission for approval before use.

11.    Candidates for senate positions are reimbursed for the first $50 they spend on their campaigns, pending submission of itemized receipts for campaign expenses. Executive Board Tickets receive $200 towards their campaign. Any candidate who spends money for campaigning must submit their expenditures no later than April 13 to the Office of Student Activities, attention: Andrea Kovachy

12.    NSUSGA elections will take place April 9-April 12. The Elections Party, where the results of elections are announced, will take place on April 13 at 12 p.m. in the Flight Deck.

For any additional questions about the NSUSGA elections process, contact the following Elections Commission members: Nathalie Cruz,; Carolina Cabrera,; Matt Bartnick,; and Phillip Williams,

Leave a Reply